Women's rights

Primary tabs

راكمت المحكمة الدستورية 19 قضية تتعلق بالنساء اللاتي كنّ، عند حصول الأحداث قيد النظر، حوامل أو مرضعات أو في إجازة أمومة، ويشغلن مناصب مختلفة في القطاع العام يحكمها القانون الأساسي للخدمة العامة. عالجت المحكمة مسألة انتهاك حقوق الحوامل والمرضعات ووفرت حمايات إضافية باعترافها رسميًا بالحق في الرعاية.

في عام 2003 ، قُتلت أندريا البالغة من العمر سبع سنوات على يد والدها، الذي انتحر لاحقً ، خلال زيارة أبوية وافقت عليها المحكمة. أبلغت والدة أندري ، أندريا غونزالي ، عن أكثر من سبع وأربعين (47) حالة من الإيذاء الجسدي للشرطة وطلبت أوامر تقييدية ضده لحماية نفسها وابنتها - لكن الأب رفض قبول الزيارات الخاضعة للإشراف و سمحت المحكمة في نهاية المطاف  بالزيارات غير الخاضعة للرقابة التي أدت إلى وفاة أندريا. بعد جريمة القتل، رفعت السيدة غونزاليس دعوى ضد السلطات الإسبانية في المحكمة الوطنية لفشلها في أخذ سوابق العنف المنزلي في الاعتبار عند تحديد مخطط الزيارة.

الخلفية: في 11 ديسمبر 1998 ، وقع انفجار في مصنع للألعاب النارية في سانتو أنطونيو دي جيسوس ، البرازيل. يتكون المصنع من مجموعة من الخيام الموجودة في المراعي مع طاولات عمل مشتركة. وأسفر الانفجار عن مقتل 60 شخصا وإصابة ستة. وكان من بين الذين فقدوا أرواحهم 59 امرأة ، 19 منهن فتاة وصبي واحد. وكان من بين الناجين ثلاث نساء بالغات ، ولدان وفتاة. كانت أربع من المتوفيات حوامل ؛ استطاعت إحداهن أن تلد قبل أن تموت. لم يتلق أي من الناجين العلاج الطبي المناسب للتعافي من عواقب الحادث.

استضافت الشبكة العالمية للحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية في السابع والعشرين من أبريل/نيسان 2021 مناقشة على الإنترنت تناولت الحقوق في الأرض. فقد عُقد اجتماع افتراضي ضم ما يزيد على خمسين عضوًا من شتى أنحاء أفريقيا وآسيا وأميركا اللاتينية والشرق الأوسط وأوروبا وأميركا الشمالية بغية...

لقد أدت جائحة كوفيد -19 إلى تفاقم أزمة الرعاية العالمية وبدون سياسة ملائمة واستجابات هيكلية أعمق، يمكن أن تؤدي عواقب الوباء إلى زيادة ترسيخ التوزيع غير المتكافئ لأعمال الرعاية غير مدفوعة الأجر وتأنيث الفقر، كما يحذر أعضاء الشبكة العالمية للحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية من...

تزوج الزوجان جوميد في عام  ، قبل قانون الاعتراف بالزواج العرفي 120 لعام 1998، والذي دخل حيز التنفيذ في 15 نوفمبر 2000. تنص المادة 7 (1) من قانون الاعتراف على أن الزواج العرفي الذي تم الدخول فيه قبل تاريخ البدء من القانون (الزيجات القديمة) يحكمها القانون العرفي، في حين أن المادة 7 (2) تنص على أن الزيجات العرفية التي تعقد بعد تاريخ بدء القانون (الزيجات الجديدة) هي زيجات مشتركة في الملكية. تأثرت السيدة جوميد بشكل مباشر بالقسم 7 بعد أن رفع السيد جوميد دعوى الطلاق ضدها لأن زواجهما يقع تحت الفئة "القديمة".

عندما تركها زوجها، ماكوسازاني يونيس ساكولو، وهي امرأة سوازيلية ، لم تكن قادرة على بيع أي من الماشية التي كانت تمتلكها، حتى تلك التي اشترتها بأموالها الخاصة. بموجب القانون العام للسلطة الزوجية لإسواتيني، تم تسجيل تلك الممتلكات باسم زوجها. كما أن مبدأ القانون العام هذا، وكذلك قانون الزواج لعام 1964 ، يحظر على المرأة المتزوجة إبرام العقود دون إذن زوجها. لم تكن المرأة المتزوجة قادرة على إدارة الممتلكات أو تمثيل نفسها في الدعاوى المدنية وتم منعها من الوصول إلى القروض المصرفية والرهون العقارية والائتمان المالي دون موافقة الزوج.

في عامي 2014 و 2015 ، أدى تفشي فيروس إيبولا في سيراليون إلى إقفال المدارس لمدة تسعة أشهر. كانت إحدى نتائج عمليات الإغلاق ارتفاعًا ملحوظًا في حالات الحمل بين الفتيات المراهقات (في بعض المناطق ، ازداد معدل الحمل بين الفتيات المراهقات بنسبة 65٪). نتيجة لذلك، صرح وزير التعليم والعلوم والتكنولوجيا آنذاك علنًا أن الفتيات الحوامل لن يكون بإمكانهن الالتحاق بالمدارس العادية أثناء الحمل لتجنب التأثير السلبي على أقرانهن. أعاد هذا البيان إحياء سياسة تمنع الفتيات الحوامل من الذهاب إلى المدرسة، وأنشأت الحكومة مدارس منفصلة لهن لا يلتقين إلا ثلاثة أيام في الأسبوع ويدرسن فقط أربعة مواد دراسية.

Women's rights

Primary tabs

In 2003, seven-year-old Andrea was murdered by her father, who subsequently committed suicide, during a court-approved parental visitation. Andrea’s mother, Andrea González, had reported over forty-seven (47) instances of physical abuse to the police and sought restraining orders against him to protect herself and her daughter – but the father had refused to accept supervised visitations and a court of law eventually allowed for the unsupervised visits that led to the death of Andrea. After the murder, Ms.

Background: On December 11, 1998, an explosion occurred in a fireworks factory in Santo Antônio de Jesus, Brazil. The factory consisted of a set of tents located in paddocks with shared worktables. As a result of the explosion, 60 people died and six were injured. Among those who lost their lives were 59 women, 19 of whom were girls, and one boy. Among the survivors were three adult women, two boys and one girl. Four of the deceased women were pregnant; one of them was able to give birth before dying.

On 27 April 2021, ESCR-Net co-hosted an online discussion on land rights. Over 50 members from across Africa, Asia, Latin America, the Middle East, Europe and North America, convened virtually to learn from each other’s experiences and strengthen shared analysis and...

The COVID-19 pandemic has exacerbated the global care crisis and without adequate policy and deeper structural responses, the aftermath of the pandemic could further entrench the unequal distribution of unpaid care work and feminization of poverty, warns ESCR-Net members from the Women...

Matodzi Ramuhovhi and Thinamaano Edson Netshituka applied to the Constitutional Court for confirmation of the Limpopo High Court, Thohoyandou’s ruling of invalidity of Section 7(1) of the Recognition of Customary Marriages Act 120 of 1998 (“Recognition Act”). The High Court ruled 7(1) to be invalid because it discriminated against women in polygamous marriages concluded before the Recognition Act on two grounds: (a) gender and (b) race, ethnic or social origin. This same section had been deemed unconstitutional as it related to monogamous marriages in Gumede vs.

The Gumedes were married in 1968, before the Recognition of Customary Marriages Act 120 of 1998, which entered into force on November 15, 2000. Section 7(1) of the Recognition Act provided that customary marriages entered into prior to the date of the commencement of the Act (old marriages) were governed by customary law, while section 7(2) provided that customary marriages entered into after the date of commencement of the Act (new marriages) were marriages in community of property. Ms. Gumede was directly affected by Section 7 after Mr.

When Makhosazane Eunice Sacolo, a Swazi woman, was left by her husband, she was unable to sell any of the livestock that they owned, even those that she had purchased with her own money. Under eSwatini’s common law of marital power, that property was registered in her husband’s name. This common law doctrine, as well as the Marriage Act of 1964, also prohibited married women from concluding contracts without her husband’s permission.

In 2014 and 2015, an outbreak of Ebola in Sierra Leone forced schools to close for nine months. One consequence of the closures was a significant spike in pregnancies among teenage girls (in some areas, rates went up 65%). As a result, the then-Minister of Education, Science and Technology publicly stated that pregnant girls would not be able to attend mainstream schools while they were pregnant in order to avoid adversely influencing their peers.

Case Filing Contributes to Collective Initiative to Develop a Feminist Global Social Pact on Care

Last month, in the case of ...